3 Möglichkeiten, um VOB-Dateien zu Komprimieren

Ein Video-Objekt, besser bekannt als VOB, ist das primäre Container-Format, das in allen DVD-Video-Medien angewandt wird. Es ist in der Lage, digitale Audio und Video Aufnahmen, DVD-Menüs, Navigation, Inhalt und alle Untertitel in einer „Streaming Form“ zusammenzustellen. Seine primäre Verwendung in DVD-Video-Medien, ist der Hauptgrund für die VOB-Erweiterung in den Dateien die im Ordner VIDEO_TS auf der DVD zu finden sind. Während das VOB-Format seine Wurzeln im MPEG Programmstream-Format hat, gibt es beachtliche zusätzliche Beschränkungen und Spezifikationen in seinen Streams. Das liegt daran, dass VOB-Dateien im Grunde ebenfalls MPEG Programm-Streams sind, aber nicht alle MPEG-Programmstreams überwinden die Grenzen und Einschränkungen, die der Arbeitsweise von VOB-Datei unterliegen. Die auf einer DVD enthaltenen VOB-Dateien, funktionieren sind kontinuierlich abspielbar, obwohl sie in Dateien von 1GB Größe aufgeteilt sind. Folglich beinhalten auf DVD’s eingebettete Videos in der Regel mehrere VOB-Dateien, die zusammen eine enorme Dateigröße für ein Video oder einen Film ergeben, vor allem, wenn Sie die Videoqualität berücksichtigen, die eine DVD aufnehmen soll.

Problemlösung 1: Komprimieren Sie VOB-Dateien mithilfe des iSkysoft Video Converter Ultimate

Konvertierung Ihrer VOB-Dateien in andere Formate, erhöht für Sie die Chancen kleinere Videodateigrößen zu erstellen. In Bezug auf die Dateigröße, sind andere Video-Formate als VOB, immer die bessere Wahl. Also müssen Sie Konvertierungs-Tools verwenden. Es wird empfohlen, den iSkysoft Video Converter Ultimate zu verwenden, die Software hat sich im Internet seit geraumer Zeit einen guten Ruf erworben.

Schritt 1: Starten Sie das Programm und beginnen Sie, Ihre VOB-Dateien per Drag & Drop des DVD-Symbols, oder der VOB-Dateien, auf Ihren Mac zu importieren. Sie können die VOB-Dateien auch direkt über die “DVD Dateien laden” Funktion von der DVD importieren.

Schritt 2. Ihre importierten Videos sind auf dem Bildschirm aufgelistet. Wählen Sie ein Video aus, das Sie in der Kategorie "Video", im unteren Bereich gefunden haben, hier können Sie MP4 als Ausgabeformat festlegen, was die Größe des Videos verringern kann. Sie können auch die Größe des Videos verkleinern, indem Sie die Videoauflösung und Audio-Einstellungen anpassen.

Schritt 3. Klicken Sie “Konvertieren”, wenn Sie bereit sind und Sie werden in kürzester Zeit Ihre VOB-Dateien komprimiert haben.

VOB Video komprimieren

Problemlösung 2: Wie Sie VOB Dateien mit „HandBrake“ komprimieren

Für diese Methode, müssen Sie Handbrake online herunterladen. Es ist ein kostenloses Tool, das für Windows, Mac und Linux verfügbar ist. Das Programm liefert gute Ergebnisse, wenn es um Kompression geht. Wenn sie es nutzen, können Sie die Dateigröße von jedem Video deutlich reduzieren.

Schritt 1. Öffnen Sie Handbrake. Um Ihre VOB-Datei zu suchen, klicken Sie auf Source, dann Open File. Sobald Sie es gefunden haben, doppelklicken Sie darauf, um es zu importieren.

Schritt 2. Jetzt müssen Sie angeben, wo Ihre Ausgabedatei gespeichert werden soll. Drücken Sie die Schaltfläche Durchsuchen, direkt neben dem Zielordner. Damit wird das Ziel Ihrer komprimierten Datei festgelegt.

Schritt 3: Der nächste Schritt dient dazu die Output-Einstellungen zu justieren, um die Kompression ohne Verlust der Bildqualität zu maximieren, Aus dem Drop-down-Menü wählen Sie "MP4". Nicht vergessen, die Option "Web optimiert" anzukreuzen!

Schritt 4: Das letzte, worauf Sie vor der Umwandlung Sorge tragen müssen ist der Codec, den Sie benutzen wollen. Unter der Registerkarte Video und dem Codec Drop-down-Menü die Option H.264 wählen.

Schritt 5: Jetzt ist alles zur Komprimierung bereit. Drücken Sie die Start-Taste, die sich neben der Source-Taste befindet. Beachten Sie, dass die Länge der Kompressions-Zeit von der Größe der VOB-Datei abhängig ist.

VOB komprimieren

Problemlösung 3: Reduzieren der Videogröße, um VOB Dateien zu komprimieren

Die Komprimierung der VOB-Dateien wird ihre Größen reduzieren, aber bedenken Sie, dass Sie Kontinuitäts-Probleme in Ihrem Film schaffen, wenn Sie etwas in Ihren VOB-Dateien vermasseln. Dann kommt es dazu, dass sie nicht mehr miteinander verknüpft sind und als einzelne Dateien arbeiten. Da VOB-Dateien speziell nur für DVD-Medien gemacht wurden, werden sie nicht wie Dateien anderer Formate (MP4, MKV, AVI, WMV) unterstützt, wenn es um Kompression geht. Sollten Sie wirklich eine komprimierte Version Ihrer VOB-Datei benötigen, werden Sie diese in einem Archiv anlegen müssen, oder ein Drittanbieter-Tool verwenden.

Ein Archiv verwenden

Beachten Sie, dass Sie mehr als eine VOB-Datei in einem Archiv komprimieren können. Führen Sie einfach die folgenden Schritte aus, wenn Sie auf Windows arbeiten:

· In Windows Explorer (oder Datei-Explorer, wenn Sie auf Windows 8 oder höher arbeiten) klicken Sie mit der rechten Maustaste auf Ihre VOB-Datei.
· Klicken Sie Send, dann komprimierter (ZIP) Ordner.
· Wenn Ihre VOB-Datei der maximalen Größe von 1 GB entspricht, könnte es einige Zeit dauern, sie zu komprimieren, und Sie werden etwas warten müssen.

Wenn Sie einen Mac verwenden:

· Legen Sie Ihre VOB-Datei in einen Ordner.
· Rechtsklicken Sie auf den Ordner und wählen Sie: Archiv hinzufügen.
· Finder wird Ihren Ordner zu einem komprimierten ZIP-Archiv machen.

Komprimieren von VOB Video-Dateien

Tipps: Warum Sie VOB-Dateien komprimieren müssen

Ein typischer Film in voller Länge ist in der Regel in mindestens drei oder vier VOB-Dateien aufgeteilt. Alle außer einer dieser Dateien haben eine Größe von 1 GB. Man stelle sich vor, wie groß die Gesamtgröße der Datei wäre, wenn Sie all die VOB-Dateien kombinieren würden, um sie zu einem einzigen Video zu machen (was praktisch unmöglich ist, da VOB-Dateien auf eine Größe von 1 GB beschränkt sind). Das bedeutet, dass Sie einen Film erhalten, der etwa drei bis vier Gigabyte groß ist. Dies wäre sehr unpraktisch vor allem, wenn Sie Kopien mit dem Inhalt Ihrer DVDs auf Ihrem Computer speichern möchten.

Wenn Sie vor einem solchen Problem mit VOB-Dateien stehen, haben Sie das Bedürfnis, die Datei zu komprimieren. Sie möchten ganz sicher nicht Hunderte von Filmen auf Ihrem Computer speichern, von denen jeder eine Größe von über 4 GB aufweist. Stattdessen würden Sie wahrscheinlich genau die richtige Dateigröße für die Qualität der Filme wünschen, die Sie von den DVDs gewohnt sind. Deshalb ist es wirklich eine gute Idee Ihre VOB-Dateien zu komprimieren, wenn Sie sie planen, sie auf Ihrem Computer zu speichern.

iSkysoft Editor
Nov 02,2016 11:57 am / Posted by to Video Komprimieren

Verwandte Artikel & Tipps

Der beste Weg zum Komprimieren eines Videos zum Hochladen auf YouTube
Der beste Weg zum Komprimieren eines Videos zum Hochladen auf YouTube
Wie man WMV in höchster Qualität auf Windows/Mac komprimiert
Wie man WMV in höchster Qualität auf Windows/Mac komprimiert
Wie man eine große Video-on-Mac/Windows Komprimieren
Wie man eine große Video-on-Mac/Windows Komprimieren
MP4 Compressor: Wie komprimiert man MP4s in eine kleinere Größe
MP4 Compressor: Wie komprimiert man MP4s in eine kleinere Größe
Wie man > Video Komprimieren > 3 Möglichkeiten, um VOB-Dateien zu Komprimieren
Back to top

3 Ways to Compress VOB Files on Mac and Windows Computer

The Video Object, more known as the VOB, is the primary container format found across all DVD-Video media. It is capable of holding digital audio and video, DVD menus, navigation contents, and subtitles all put together in a stream form. Its main usage in DVD-Video media s is the primary reason for the .vob extension in the files found under the VIDEO_TS folder within the disc. While the VOB format has its roots on the MPEG program stream format, there are noticeable additional limitations and specifications in its streams. This means that VOB files are basically MPEG program streams themselves, but not all MPEG program streams fit the limitations and restrictions set under the definition of the VOB file. When on the DVD, these VOB files, although broken down into files with sizes of 1 GB at most, still function to produce continuously-playing content. Consequently, videos embedded in DVDs typically comprise of several VOB files and summing up the sizes of these VOB files would result to quite an enormous file size for a video or movie, especially when you consider the video quality that the DVD can hold.

Solution 1: Compress VOB Files by Using iSkysoft iMedia Converter Deluxe

Converting your VOB files to other formats increases the chances of you getting smaller video file sizes as more video file formats are better than VOB in terms of file size. You would have to use conversion tools. It is recommended to use iSkysoft iMedia Converter Deluxe as their software have built a good reputation on the Internet for quite some time.

Get the Best VOB Video Compressor:

  • Convert 150+ video and audio formats – with iSkysoft iMedia Converter Deluxe, you can now handle video and audio such as WAV, MP3, AVI, MP4, MPG, MPEG, WMV, RMVB, M4V, VOB, 3GP, MOV, FLV, F4V, MTS, TS, M2TS, TP, TRP,TOD, HD WMV, HD and MKV.
  • Fast Speeds – With iSkysoft iMedia Converter Deluxe, you can be sure of fast speeds which reach a maximum of 90X. the new algorithm of the tool allows it to do this without crashing your computer.
  • Maintain Quality – GPU acceleration allows iSkysoft iMedia Converter Deluxe to work without compressing video. This way, there is no compromise on the video quality.
  • Edit videos – This is a tool like no other; it comes with its own video editor which you can use to sharpen your work and make it professional.
  • Burn to DVD – After you are doe, easily send the videos to your DVD for burning.
  • Download videos - If you want to download online video for playback, iSkysoft iMedia Converter Deluxe helps you achieve that with ease.

Tutorial on How to Compress VOB Videos using iSkysoft

Step 1. Load VOB videos

Launch the program and start importing your VOB files by dragging and dropping the DVD disc icon or the VOB files you have on your Mac. You may also opt to select "Load DVD Files" to import the VOB files directly from the disc.

compress vob files

Step 2. Compress VOB

Your imported video will be listed in the window. Select a video and under the "Video" category found at the lower portion, you can set "FLV" as your output format, which can reduce the video size.

vob compress

If you don't want to change the video format, you can also make the size of the resulting video much smaller by adjusting the video resolution and audio settings.

vob compressor

Step 3. Save VOB video

Hit "Convert" once you're ready and you shall have your VOB files compressed in no time.

vob compression

Solution 2: How to Compress VOB Files by Using HandBrake

To do this method, you'll have to get HandBrake online. It's a free tool that's available for Windows, Mac, and Linux. It does a clean job when it comes to compression, as it significantly decreases the file size of any video you may want to use with it.

Step 1. Open Handbrake. To locate your VOB file, click on Source, then Open File. Once you've found it, double-click on it to have it imported.

Step 2. Now you'll have to specify where you want your output file stored. Hit the Browse button just beside the Destination field then set the destination of your compressed file.

Step 3. The next step is to tweak the output settings to maximize compression while not compromising video quality. From the Container drop-down menu, select "MP4". Don't forget to tick the "Web Optimized" checkbox.

Step 4. The last thing to worry about before conversion is the codec you're going to use. Under the Video tab and the Codec drop-down menu, select H.264.

Step 5. You're all set for compression. Hit the Start button located beside the Source button. Take note that the time you'll have to wait depends on the size of the VOB file you imported.

how to compress video files using handbrake

Solution 3: Reduce the Video Size to Compress VOB Files

Compressing your VOB files will reduce their sizes but keep in mind that you may have problems with your movie's continuity as messing up with each of your VOB files will cause them to be unlinked from each other and act as individual files. Since VOB files have specially been made for DVD media only, they aren't exactly supported like files of other formats (MP4, MKV, AVI, WMV) when it comes to compression. Should you really need to compress your VOB file, you'll have to enclose it in an archive or use a third-party tool.

Using an Archive

Note that you can compress more than one VOB file in an archive. Just do the following steps if you're on Windows:

· In Windows Explorer (or File Explorer, if you're on Windows 8 or later), right-click on your VOB file.
· Hit Send to, then Compressed (zip) Folder.
· If your VOB file is at the maximum size of 1GB, it might take some time to compress it so you may have to wait.

If you're using a Mac:

· Put your VOB file in a folder.
· Right-click on that folder and select Make Archive.
· Finder will make your folder into a compressed ZIP archive.

compress vob

Tips: Why you need to compress VOB files

A typical full-length movie is usually broken down into at least three or four VOB files. All but one of these files have a size of 1 GB. Just imagine how large the total file size would be if you were to get all the VOB files and combine them into a single video (which is practically impossible as VOB files are restricted to a size of 1 GB). That means you get a movie that's about three to four gigabytes in size. This is very impractical especially if you want to save copies of the contents of your DVDs into your computer.

When you feel bothered by such a problem with VOB files, you may feel the need to compress them. You wouldn't want to store hundreds of movies in your computer with each of them having a size of about 4 GB. Instead, you would probably want to get just the right file size for the quality of movies you're getting from the DVDs you have and that is why it really is a great idea to compress your VOB files when you plan to get them over to your computer.

iSkysoft Editor
Oct 30,2018 20:37 pm / Posted by to Convert VOB

Bundle and Save

Special Offers for Video Bundle Save Up to $35.99!

video editor

Filmora Video Editor

A Video Editing Software That Meets All Your Needs!

video converter

iMedia Converter Deluxe

High Quality Video Converter, 90X Faster Speed!

$119.94 $83.95
Buy Now Or paypal

Related Articles & Tips

3 Ways to Compress VOB Files on Mac and Windows Computer
3 Ways to Compress VOB Files on Mac and Windows Computer
VOB to FLV - How to Convert VOB to FLV on Mac (macOS High Sierra Included)
VOB to FLV - How to Convert VOB to FLV on Mac (macOS High Sierra Included)
How to Convert VOB to iPhone (X/8/8 Plus/7/7 Plus/6s) on Mac (macOS High Sierra)
How to Convert VOB to iPhone (X/8/8 Plus/7/7 Plus/6s) on Mac (macOS High Sierra)
How to Convert VOB to WMV for Playing or Editing
How to Convert VOB to WMV for Playing or Editing
How-to > Convert VOB > 3 Ways to Compress VOB Files on Mac and Windows Computer
Back to top